Peppercorn Steak & Caesar Salad

Last Sunday my step-brother Rich sent me a Facebook message, “Eating Caesar salad and wishing it was yours.”  His message was really sweet!  I replied, “& that made me smile! Thanks Rich! ❤ Will blog it soon:)”  He replied, “Hopefully you mean the recipe?”  There are some other blog posts I want to write, but am blogging this tonight because some steak, mushrooms & green peppercorns with Caesar salad sounds awesome! 😀

Had just put some EVOO and mushrooms in a sauté pan when my sister Kim called around 7:30 p.m.  “Are you getting ready to make dinner Kar-Bear?” (I have a younger brother and sister who nicknamed me ‘Kar-Bear’ before Care Bears became famous.  My younger brother still calls me ‘Bear’ and my younger sister calls me ‘Kar.’  The only ones who call me ‘Kar-Bear’ now are my mom and sister right before me.)  “You know me well, Kim … just started.”  “What delectable treat are you making tonight?”  Told her the Rich story and that it was a great night for a steak & salad blog post photo.  (When did food become a photo opp?)

I’ve made Caesar Salad long enough to have variations to share.  The steak, pan-sauteed with green peppercorns, was born post-2003.  Here are the recipes:

Caesar Salad Dressing

1 egg

3 TBsp EVOO

1 TBsp+ fresh squeezed lemon juice

1 – 2 Large Cloves Garlic, minced

1 tsp Dijon Mustard

Anchovy Paste to taste, spiraled to size of quarter for me

Tabasco to taste, 5 -7 good dashes for me

1/4 to 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (if you’re near a Wegmans, use their grated Parmesan/Romano blend)

So back in the day when I’d get heads of Romaine lettuce from the Rochester Public Market, I’d rinse the leaves under running water and stand them up in a dish strainer or on a towel to drain, then I’d make the dressing in a large salad bowl.  Why mention this?  Because today with pre-washed, bagged lettuce, there’s no water clinging to your lettuce leaves.  So whip up the salad dressing above in a large bowl, mixing with a whisk.  If raw egg gives you the heebie-jeebies, then don’t use it.  My family and I have eaten raw egg in this recipe forever without getting Salmonella.  You can use Egg Beaters if you’d like.  But truth be told, lately I just make it with Olive Oil and lemon, etc.  (Today I had two hard-boiled eggs for breakfast; how many eggs does a girl need in one day?)  Either way it’s good!  If you’re using bagged lettuce, you’ll want to add a bit of water to the dressing so it’s not too thick.  Tonight I tried something totally new by adding some of my martini in (see ‘Dirty Martini for Liz’ for recipe); it rocked!  So make dressing.  Add lettuce.  Can also add sliced mushrooms and croutons if desired.  Wait to toss until just before serving because the lettuce wilts quickly.  Serve with freshly ground pepper on top.

Steak with Green Peppercorns

Good cut of steak; tenderloin rocks

EVOO

Mushrooms; regular or Baby Bellas

2 Cloves Minced Garlic

Green Peppercorns in brine

Red wine if you’d like

In sauté pan, add EVOO and mushrooms and begin to cook.  Stir in minced garlic.  Add in 3 to 4 forkfuls of green peppercorns in brine w/out the brine.  Stir often.  Can add in some red wine if you’d like.  Mushrooms should be mostly cooked, i.e. no liquid at all, when you add steak.  Add beef.  Saute/flip until done; I like it medium rare but timing depends on thickness and cut of meat.  Serve with mushrooms and peppercorns on top.  Can probably grill meat if you’d like and sauté mushrooms, garlic & peppercorns separately, but I’ve not yet made it this way.  Bon Appétit!

So I made this while talking on the phone with my sister; we’d been discussing the old Caesar salad way with slight water left on the leaves vs. the lazy, bagged lettuce way when I said, “I’ve just added something I’ve never done before!”  She asked, “Added some of your martini in?”  I laughed; she really does know me very well! ❤  And it was so good it made me wonder why I haven’t been making Caesar salad lately:)

2 Comments on “Peppercorn Steak & Caesar Salad”

  1. kimberly baglin says:

    Hi Kar-Bear,

    Your dinner looks absolutely delicious as usual…glad that I could help…LOL!

    Keep on cooking and blogging!


Leave a Reply

